TOWN OF SCHERERVILLE SPECIAL TOWN COUNCIL MEETING

The Regular Town Council Meeting of the Town of Schererville, IN was called to order by President Rob Guetzloff at 6:07 p.m. in the Schererville Town Hall, 10 E. Joliet Street Schererville, IN.

Attendance was taken with the following Council Members present: Caleb S. Johnson, Kevin Connelly, Thomas Schmitt, Robin Arvanitis and Rob Guetzloff. Staff members present: Attorney David Austgen, Fire Chief Robert Patterson, Police Chief Pete Sormaz, Park Superintendent John Novacich, IT Robbie Hansen, Director of Public Works Andy Hansen, Director of Operations Jim Gorman, Clerk-Treasurer Michael Troxell and Recording Secretary Robin Thiel.

THEREUPON, Claims

- A. Officials Bonds, Annual Fee \$1475.00
- B. Scherland Park District Bond, Annual Bond \$400.00

Mr. Connelly made a motion to accept the claims as presented, seconded by Mr. Schmitt. All in favor (5-0).

THEREUPON, Comments from the Public regarding Agenda Items

THEREUPON New Business

ITEM A. Res. #2021-18, A Resolution to Transfer Funds within a Category of Appropriations

Mr. Troxell explained the transfer of funds. Mr. Schmitt made a motion to adopt Res. #2021-18, seconded by Mrs. Arvanitis. All in favor (5-0).

ITEM B. Res. #2021-19, A Resolution Authorizing 2021 Encumbered Appropriations to be carried into Budget year 2022

Mr. Troxell stated that this is an annual resolution that we do, authorizing the 2021 Encumbered appropriations to be carried to over to the year 2022. He stated that the number that we will be carrying over is \$3,505,333.94. Mr. Troxell stated that these are monies that have been appropriated, but not paid out yet.

Mr. Schmitt made a motion to adopt Resolution #2021-19, seconded by Mr. Connelly. All in favor (5-0).

ITEM C. 2022 Appointments

 $\mbox{\rm Mr.}$ Schmitt made a motion to appoint the following appointments:

Town Council President: Robin Arvanitis
Town Council Vice President: Thomas Schmitt
Utility Board President: Thomas Schmitt
Utility Board Vice President: Caleb Johnson

Redevelopment Development Commission President: Kevin Connelly Redevelopment Development Commission Vice President: Rob Guetzloff

Waterworks Appointment (D): Rob Guetzloff
Waterworks President: Rob Guetzloff
Waterworks Vice President: Robin Arvanitis

Attorney - Town; Redevelopment Commission; Waterworks Board; Utility Board; Town Council; EDC; and Town Court: David Austgen, Austgen, Kuiper and Jasaitis.

Attorney - Plan Commission; Board of Zoning Appeals; Park Board: Burke Constanza & Carberry

Attorney Board of Safety: Burke Constanza & Carberry

Town Engineer: Nies Engineering

Plan Commission Appt. (D) 4-year term: William Jarvis

Plan Commission Staff Members (Appt. (1): Alex Gorman
Plan Commission Staff Members (Appt. (2): Tom Anderson
Plan Commission Staff Members (Appt. (3): Chris Rak
BZA Appt. 4-year term - a Non Plan Commission Member: Michael Davis
Park Board Appt. (D) 4-year term: Ed Repay
Board of Safety Appt. (R) 3-year term (1): Rich Pietrak
Southcom PSAP Executive Board Member - 1 year term: Jim Gorman

Liaison to Park Board; Park Foundation; Park Dept.: Robin Arvanitis
Liaison to Public Works: Tom Schmitt
Liaison to Board of Safety (Fire & Police Dept.) Tom Schmitt
Liaison to Wastewater Treatment Plant: Kevin Connelly
Liaison to Plan Commission; Board of Zoning: Caleb Johnson
Planning Commission (NIRPC) Appt.: Tom Schmitt
Lake County Solid Waste Management District Appt.: Robin Arvanitis
Liaison to Lake Central School Board: Robin Arvanitis
Liaison to Lake County Drainage Board: Rob Guetzloff
Liaison to Schererville Chamber of Commerce: Michael Troxell

American Rescue Plan/Infrastructure Committee: Robert Volkmann, Jim Gorman, Michael Troxell, Andy Hansen, Caleb Johnson and Tom Schmitt

Mrs. Arvanitis 2^{nd} the motion. All in favor (5-0).

THEREUPON, Business from the floor NONE

Meeting adjourned.

ROB GUETZLOFF
TOWN COUNCIL PRESIDENT

MICHAEL A TROXELL, CMO

TOWN CLERK-TREASURER

A TRUE COPY